Navratri: 9Avatars of Durga and 9 Colours to wear

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Religion
  • Reading time:3 mins read

Most of us are excited for the Navratri. The festival of 9 days is known as Navratri. When goddess Durga has worshipped 9 avatars and divine time to start good work. According to the Hindu tradition that this is the time of the year when good wins over evil. “Maa” is considered as a symbol of goodness. She worshipped in her 9 faces that symbolize 9 aspects of humanity.

9 Avatars of Maa Durga and colors

1. Shailaputri Devi – Yellow
She is the first goddess worshipped on the first day of Navratri.Shailaputri means daughter of a mountain. She is first among the NavaDurga. She is the embodiment of the power of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva.

2.Brahmacharani Devi- Green
She is the second form of Maa Durga worshipped on the second day. Brahmacharani means one who practices devot without austerity. Filled with bliss and happiness. She is the way to Moksha.

3.Chandraghanta Devi – Grey
She is the third face of Maa Durga and worshipped on the third day of peace and blissful life. She has a Chandra or Half moon on her forehead in the shape of ghanta or bell that’s why she is called as Chandraghanta.

4.Kushmanda Devi-Orange
Kushmanda Devi is the fourth form of Maa Durga worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri. The meaning of the name ku-shm-anda ,Ku-A little, ushma-warmth and the cosmic egg so she is considered as the creator of the universe.

5.Skandamata Devi -White
Skandamata is the mother of Lord Skanda who was chosen as the commander and chief of gods to fight against evil. On the fifth day of Navratri festival, she is worshipped.

6.Katyayani Devi- Red
She is the six face of Maa Durga worshipped on the sixth day of Navratri and daughter of Sage Kata.

7.Kaalratri Devi-Blue
Kaalratri Mata is the seventh form of Maa Durga worshipped on the seventh day of Navratri. She is fearless and has a sword in her right symbolizes the destruction of evil.She is as black as goddess Kaali and has three eyes shines brightly.

8. MahaGauri Devi-Pink
Maha Gauri is the eight form of Maa Durga worshipped on the eighth day of Navratri. She is extremely peaceful and calm.She turned black in color but Lord Shiva cleaned her with water of river Ganga after that she turned Maha Gauri or extreme white.

9.Siddhidatri Devi
Siddhidatri Devi is the ninth form of Maa Durga. She has supernatural healing powers. She rides on her lion and blesses all gods, saints and yogis and all the devotees.

Must Read- Why we celebrate Navratri twice a year?

Leave a Reply